JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use the Site in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options.

| Last Updated::25/05/2018

Major Activity


2nd Himachal Pradesh Science Congress (HPSC) 2017-18


Himachal Pradesh Council for Science, Technology and Environment (HIMCOSTE), organized “2nd Himachal Pradesh Science Congress” on 20th - 21st November, 2017 at Hotel Peterhoff, Shimla. The theme of the Congress was “Science and Technology for Sustainable Livelihood in Indian Himalayan Region”. Around 500 academicians, scientists, researchers and Ph.D. scholars actively engaged in the field of science & technology in various Universities, Colleges and Research & Development Institutions within and neighbouring North Indian States participated in the two days event. Total 406 abstracts from 105 institutions were received.

The Chief Guest for the inaugural function was Dr. V.K. Sarswat, Padma Bhushan & Padma Shri, member NITI Ayog. Dr. G.S. Goraya, IFS, Pr. Chief Conservator of Forests (HOFF) was the Guest of Honour in the Inaugural session. Plenary lectures were delivered by Dr. Manoj Pateiriya, Director, NISCAIR-CSIR, New Delhi, Dr. Krishan Lal, Former Director, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi and Prof. Rup Lal, Department of Zoology, Delhi University. Welcome address and briefing about the Congress was done by Sh. Kunal Satyarthi, IFS, Joint Member Secretary (HIMCOSTE), Shimla.

The Chief Guest for valedictory function was Hon’ble Chief Justice of H.P High Court Justice Sanjay Karol and Guests of Honor were Dr. Timothy A. Gonsalves, Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Mandi, H.P; Dr. R.S. Chauhan, Vice Chancellor, Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla; Dr. P.L. Gautam, Vice Chancellor, Career Point University, Hamirpur and Sh. Somesh Goyal, IPS, Director General of Police, Himachal Pradesh. Best oral and best paper presentation from each of the ten themes was awarded.

Around 500 participants were present during the two days Congress including students, research scholars, faculty, session chairs/co- chairs and other delegates.

Exhibition at HPSC The main attraction of this Congress was an exhibition in the form of Science Fair. 31 stalls were allotted to various agencies of Himachal Pradesh and across the Country. Ministry of Science & Technology (GoI), New Delhi- Core Groups; Center of Science for villages, Wardha, Maharashtra; Madhya Pradesh Vigyan Sabha, Bhopal; Uttarakhand State Council for Science & Technology, Dehradun; M/s Bishen Singh Mahender Pal Singh, Dehradun; NB Institute for Rural Technology (NBIRT), Tripura; Development Alternatives Group, Delhi; Indian Institute of Technology (IIT Mandi); National Institute of Technology (NIT Hamirpur); JayPee University of Information Technology, Waknaghat, Solan; Eternal University, Baru Sahib, Rajgarh, Sirmour; Chitkara University, Solan; Arni University, Kathgarh, Indora, Kangra; Shoolini University, Solan; Maharaja Agarsen University, Solan; CSK HP Krishi Vishvavidyalaya and IHBT Palampur; Appropriate Technology Center, Sunder Nagar; World Wide Fund (WWF), Shimla; ECEKAL Technologies, Shimla; Himalayan Forest Research Institute (HFRI), Panthaghatti, Shimla; Eco-task force Shimla; Central Potato Research Institute, Shimla; Nauni University, Solan; Chinmaya Mission, Dharamashala and Indian Metrological Department (IMD) displayed scientific research work or activities in these exhibition stalls.